Via Garibaldi 9 - Nicolò Grimaldi
|( See the map )|
|Roll 1576||Level 1||Titular Nicolò Grimaldi, principe di Salerno|
|Roll 1588||Level 1||Titular Nicolò Grimaldi, principe di Salerno|
|Roll 1614||Level 1||Titular don Carlo Doria|
The building was erected beginning in 1565 by Domenico and Giovanni Ponsello for Niccolò Grimaldi, called "the Monarch" for the number of aristocratic titles he could boast and the countless debts Philip II owed him, given that he was the king's banker. It is the most majestic building on the street and the only one erected on three lots of land, with two vast gardens enclosing the main body of the building. The spacious loggias facing the street were added in 1597, when the building became the property of Giovanni Andrea Doria who bought it for his cadet son, Carlo, Duke of Tursi, hence the building's current name. Since 1848 it has been the seat of Genoa's Commune. The fa?ade is characterized by the alternation of various-hued materials: pink stone from Finale Ligure, gray-black slate, and white Carrara marble. The fa?ade bears two overlaying orders. The raised level above the large plinth bears alternating windows with their original design, and rustic, Internal spaces the courtjutting parastas that are replaced, on the level above, by Doric parastas. Mascarons with animal-like grimaces surmount the windows on both levels, thus enhancing the facade's textures. The majestic marble portal is crowned with Genoa's coat-of-arms. A particularly innovative feature is the unique and ingenious architectural solution, which, through the building's successive interior spaces (the atrium, stairs, rectangular raised courtyard with respect to the portico, and double-flight staircase) creates a marvelous interplay of light and perspective. The building constitutes the culmination of the magnificence of Genoese domestic architecture.